Why Does Everyone Hate Mondays?

monday

There are only 20 Mondays left in 2017.

I used to hate Mondays, so much so that the foreboding feeling would start to take hold on Sundays. It became so much of an issue that my significant other at the time thought it was hilarious, until he realized I wasn’t joking.

After some reflection, I realized that I hated Mondays so much because I hated my job. I didn’t hate the people, or the location or commute, or even what I did, but it just wasn’t working for me where I was in my life.

So ‘fess up. You hate your job just like everyone else in the world, and that’s the main (if not sole) reason why you hate Mondays.

So what are you going to do about it? Post a meme that adequately expresses your frustration, then grumble some more once you get to work? What good is that going to do, besides get you a few likes on Instagram?

I hate to break it to you, but there’s nothing more unattractive and uninspiring than someone who constantly complains about a situation and then does nothing to change it.

I wouldn’t go so far to say that Mondays and I are besties, but I have made an effort to not hate them anymore. This is largely because I stick to the following points as closely as possible:

1. Sleep in. If you can afford the time, give this to yourself on Monday mornings. Do you workout in the morning? A fair amount of workout programs schedule rest days on Sundays — just schedule them for Mondays and sleep in the extra hour. It feels almost as indulgent as dessert.

2. Start the day off with water. Before coffee, green tea, or apple cider vinegar shot, start with water. Sometimes the weekend  = overindulgence = not feeling too good the next day. If the damage is already done, water first. Keeping things simple often yields the best results. 

3. Balance work with play (and everything else). My natural social rhythm (and that of my friends) seems to beat from Friday night to early Sunday afternoon, giving me some wind-down time to set things up for Monday. I’ve decided to apply this to the week as well, balancing a night of laundry or practicing yoga poses with going out for dinner or a movie. Having a flexible work/play balance ends up bringing calm to the daily chaos that comes all too easily. 

On that note…

4. Take a minute for you. There are only 24 hours in the day, but five minutes here, two minutes there can really add up to something. Use whatever time you have to pause, to check in with family, or to further personal dreams and goals. Never underestimate the power of a spark.

5. Realize that everyone is feeling it. Even if you can’t see or sense it, everyone feels some variation of Monday blues. It’s just all about making it work somehow. Who wants to be known as one of “those people”, anyway — not only as someone who hates their job, but seemingly does nothing to change it? Do you really want to be that person? 

If it’s really that bad and none of the above points apply, maybe it is time to look for a new job. 

And if its not that bad, then c’mon, figure it out already. 

There are only 20 Mondays left in 2017. What are you waiting for?

2 thoughts on “Why Does Everyone Hate Mondays?

  1. Janice Wilson

    Good suggestions to revamp one’s thinking about depressing Mondays. If one is truly in a professional rut Monday IS the day when it hits you the hardest. Most people adjust as the week wears on but Monday is the hammer on the head for sure. Monday seems to affirm (like no other day) that you’re still in the same place doing the same boring/ low paying / unfullfilling job. Therefore, It follows that you must be unhappy. What else could you possibly be! Right? You say maybe not…

    Your approach to a more positive Monday mind set is well thought out and if your ideas are actualized they could bring those afflicted a more satisfying start to their work week.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Linds Post author

      Thanks, Janice — sometimes I wonder if there wasn’t a designation to our days (i.e. Mon., Tues., Wed., etc.), would the dislike (or appeal) be the same? I’m not sure. Every week is passing with speed and the Monday drag down can be too, too much sometimes. I think these can be applied to any day, but especially Mondays, which, as you mention, can be the toughest to warm back up to.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

