Strength Training for the Zombie Apocalypse, Ep. 4

So I’ve realized I’ve got a little time to kill before the humans start to turn and am going to hop on the vanity train for mile or two.

I’ve been alternating upper body and ab days with glute and leg days, throwing in HITT and LISS cardio where it fits. My upper body tends to show more progress sooner than other areas, yet I’ve noticed that my back and shoulders could use a little work (in comparison to my biceps, triceps, etc.).

My favorite upper body exercises tend to involve bodyweight strength progression (i.e. push up variations) — again, functionality over aesthetics. I will be incorporating more challenging bodyweight exercises to up the ante while achieving a more balanced look — i.e. tricep push ups, diamond push ups, pull ups, chin ups, and handstands…. probably in that order.

I just haaaaaaaate push ups in general, though. They’re not supposed to be easy. And maybe two sets of 12 reps is adequate at this time. I just have to learn to be patient with myself. The post-apocalyptic civilization won’t be built in a day.

Yesterday I did more back-centric exercises while not neglecting (shoulders, bis n’ tris) coupled with core work. Completed this bad boy below in 52 minutes and 6 seconds:

Am doing lower body today and will follow up with that routine later this week.

Check out previous episodes here:

Episode 3
Episode 2
Episode 1

What does your workout routine look like?

 

2 thoughts on “Strength Training for the Zombie Apocalypse, Ep. 4

  1. Pingback: Strength Training for the Zombie Apocalypse, Ep. 5 – Rose-Colored Linds

  2. Pingback: Yoga in a Time of Zombies, Pt. 1 – Rose-Colored Linds

Leave a Reply

